CE Forum: Should the Church Proclaim a Fifth Marian Doctrine?

Mary statueIt’s time for a “Solemnity of the Assumption”-themed Catholic Exchange Forum!

You know the guidelines (which in fact apply to all comments at CE):

-keep it as short and streamlined as possible

-keep it on the subject


-no vulgarity

-be respectful of other people’s human dignity

The question for this week is:

The Catholic Church has four official Marian Doctrines (Mother of God, Ever Virgin, Immaculate Conception, and the Assumption). It has been suggested that a fifth one (Co-Redemptrix, Mediatrix and Advocate) has always been implicit in Catholic belief and ought to be officially proclaimed. Agree? Disagree? Why or why not?

Subscribe to CE
(It's free)

Go to Catholic Exchange homepage